What You Should Know About Going Vegan In Mississauga, Brampton, Toronto And GTA…Food To Avoid, Vegan-Friendly Restaurants And Food Options

Veganism appears to be capturing the imagination of a whole generation. From Brad Pitt to Beyoncé, we have seen a number of celebrities endorse the vegan way of life. Shifting from yesteryear preferences such as a veggie burger or a veggie pizza, today’s food fans are experimenting with vegan variants. But most of us are a stumped lot when queried about veganism.

No wonder, myths and misconceptions abound about veganism. For some the term ‘vegan’ is nothing more than an abbreviated form of the term ‘vegetarian’. For others, veganism is all about subsisting on three green salads a day. All this can certainly confuse those who are genuinely interested in knowing about veganism and adapting a healthier and cleaner diet. So, let’s explore the fascinating world of veganism.

In a nutshell, veganism is a diet that goes a step beyond vegetarianism. Most of us know that vegetarianism involves totally shunning animal meats and adopting a predominantly vegetarian diet. But while vegetarians include some animal-based foods such as dairy and eggs, vegans go the extra mile and stay away from all such animal by-products too. Veganism eschews the consumption of all foods derived from animals – directly or indirectly.  The underlying principles of veganism revolve around the noble human spirit of kindness for all living beings. Welcome to the enchanting world of Veggie Planet kawa nuggets and kawa drumstick in Mississauga Ontario!

Vegan blacklist

Before you know what to eat when going vegan, it makes sense to know what foods to beware of. While everyone is sure to know that animal proteins such as seafood, poultry, pork and beef are an absolute no-no on the vegan’s dining table, remember that even eggs are on the barred list. Even dairy and allied products such as cheese and milk lattes are to be avoided at all costs.

Also remember that animal derived oils and fats are also not to be consumed if you’re a vegan in the making. Beware of fish oils and lard making a sneaky entry onto your menu.

Here’s some not so sweet news for those who love drizzling their snacks with wholesome, healthy honey – honey is derived from bees and so not destined for vegan palates. Going beyond honey, vegans will also avoid refined white sugar because animal bone char is used in its production.

Fortunately, Indian street food offers a variety of vegan options to evergreen vegetarian dishes that make the tongue drool in delight.

Vegan staples

Now, let’s see what foods you can consume with a clean conscience when you go vegan –

  • Vegetables or veggies: These are the mainstay of a vegan diet. You can eat any and all vegetables because they are all plant-harvested. You can consume them boiled, in salads and cooked in any which way you please – only make sure there is no meat, poultry or dairy added to the dish. Vegetables provide a number of vital nutrients that our bodies require.
  • Fruits: Especially for those who suffer the legendary ‘sweet tooth’, fruits are considered as the vegan’s candy. There is absolutely no limit on the amount of fruit you consume in raw form. Go on and satiate your sweet urges. Fruits are also a good source of nourishment.
  • Grains: Rice, wheat, barley, maize, corn…are all staple in any diet and as a vegan you are free to partake of these basic food grains that mankind has been using for its sustenance for thousands of years now. To throw in a bit of variety, you could always experiment with some of the more exotic grain types like faro and couscous!
  • Legumes: Brimming with proteins, legumes are plant foods that you can add to your diet every day.
  • Nuts and seed: Almonds, pistachios, peanuts, flax seeds…the list of nuts and seeds is endless. Strong on energy and nutrition, you can have your fill of nuts and even relish butter derived from peanuts and some of the other varieties of nuts.
  • Tofu and tempeh: Soya-based products such as tofu and tempeh are pure vegetarian in origin and can be used in a number of recipes. In many cases, these foods can replicate the meat-sensation for those who are fixated on non-vegetarian food tastes. Scrambled tofu can give scrambled eggs a run for their money any day!

 

In case you’re worried about losing out on crucial minerals and vitamin or even your gut’s health, you can always rely upon fermented but vegan alternatives such as seaweed, sauerkraut, kimchi. Incidentally, nutritional yeast is a great source of vitamin B12.

At Veggie Planet in Mississauga, patrons are pleasantly surprised to see a number of vegan options that are rich in taste and satisfying from the ethical point of view too. While there, you could check out the Naanza and Planet special poutine. You can either drop in or order over the phone if you are resident in Toronto or Greater Toronto Area – GTA.

 

Trojan horses in the vegan world:

Finally, a number of processed foods from bread to deep-fried snacks and colored drinks to sticky sweets such as the quintessential gummy candies are all non-vegan in nature. This is because animal-produce are directly or indirectly involved in their production. For instance, in the candy industry, gelatin is extensively used because it imparts a chewy texture to sweets. Gelatin is basically a protein that is harvested from the tendons of livestock such as cattle and pigs.

In roasted peanuts too gelatin is used to bind the salt to the peanuts. Now for the last straw – you would be horrified to know that the attractive red hues of various foods and drinks in the marketplace are actually derived by crushing and boiling beetles.

While alcoholic drinks such as liquors are known to be a safe option in general, it always pays to know what goes into your favorite tipple. Especially since many an imported beer and wine are known to contain substances such as fish oils and gelatins. Talking of fish, omega-3 is also not consumed by vegans.

 

Ways to stay glued to the vegan track:

Before you rush out to the nearest Veggie Planet Vegetarian Restaurant in Mississauga,  Brampton to indulge your taste buds with Indian street food and down a couple of Indian drinks, let’s take into consideration the following:

Carefully read packaged food labels, especially the small print: Look out for ingredients that are potentially non-vegan. Should such labels list ingredients like lactose, whey, shellac, casein, rennet and castoreum, alarm bells must clang in your mind.

Carefully read packaged food labels, especially the small print: Look out for ingredients that are potentially non-vegan. Should such labels list ingredients like lactose, whey, shellac, casein, rennet and castoreum, alarm bells must clang in your mind.

Considering the dietary restrictions and limitations, many people think that taking the vegan road and sticking to it is a tough proposition. While it’s certainly not everyone’s cup of tea, with a bit of foresight and planning, you can be a successful vegan.

 

To Conclude

Fortunately for those who are fascinated by the concept of veganism and wish to enjoy its benefits, there are a variety of vegan and vegetarian restaurants in Mississauga and GTA, with some of them specializing in Indian dishes. These restaurants are tweaking traditional Indian recipes to fit a global palate. The result is a mouth-watering array of Indian street foods that drip with the trademark Indian tastes yet brimming with the health associated with a clean diet.

Veggie Planet has pioneered the concept of Indian vegan street foods to the level of an art.

If you’re in Etobicoke, Brampton, Mississauga, Toronto and rest of Greater Toronto Area, walk into Veggie Planet outlet near you and savor mind-boggling combinations ranging from naanza to kawa nuggets and drumsticks. Relax with traditional Indian drinks like jal-jeera after enjoying your meal.

Veggie Planet offers convenient online ordering via website (https://veggieplanet.ca ) and flexible delivery options, including delivery within a 15-kilometer radius available in Mississauga and GTA.

For in restaurant pickups, Veggie Planet is located at 6985 Davand Dr Unit #1, Mississauga, ON L5T 1Y7 and can be reached at (905) 795-7950 for all vegetarian and vegan restaurant menu items.

 

Happy veganism!